storyteller, broadcaster

Just putting out a brief note on this right now. When I started to blog, a couple of months ago, the Jeph Maystrucks of the world told me “You must get readers to post comments. It has to be interactive”. I’m not so sure. Being from a traditional media background that predates the whole cyberworld by many years, my experience has not been geared in this direction.

Reading news stories and blogposts, and the comments that follow, I have to say I have some serious doubts about the value of the comments.

Lots more to come another day when I have more time. But what do you think? On this point at least, I would love to hear from you.

Comments on: "Are comments from blogreaders important? Help me on this please." (4)

  1. Personally, I think comments are important but I also think a spam filter is highly necessary. A good discussion can encourage people to recommend and link to your posts and/or follow you. However, in comes the spam piece. There are lots of time wasters out there who love to degrade the thread of an otherwise intelligent dialogue.

  2. The way I see it, comments/feedback could be important to both the participants in a blog:

    …for the writer of the blog it could allow them to hear from those readers who may agree or disagree with their position/opinion.
    …for the reader of the blog, “comments” can supply a platform on which to express their views. It makes them feel connected to the topic and writer of the blog.
    ….and for me personally, I am reading a blog for one reason only; to read the author’s commentary, & gain insight into the topic at hand. Whether I agree or disagree, my views probably will never be shared in cyberspace. (today being an exception)
    Oh, and by the way, great commentaries. Keep up the good work.

  3. Frank Flegel said:

    Open communication is always good even when it includes jackass comments. Desiderada says “Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others even the dull and ignorant; they too have their story.”

  4. Don black said:

    Roger, you’ll remember the kind of people who used to phone in to say, George Young or Lorne Harasen’s shows at CKCK Radio. Mycurrent theory is that their evil spawn now populate the comments section of many blogs, etc. That being said, occasionally the thought processes involved in the comments’ creation speak to a very unique view of society, and on rarer occasions lapse into hilarity.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

